top of page
  • Writer's pictureNora Roberts

Never Be Told or Sold Anything Less Than Pure 24K Gold



Mahdi Cocci, Actor, Series Regular Tyler Perry “Bruh”



Mahdi tells his story:

Now I vividly remember the imagery of Deion Sanders, who created this character / alter ego primetime during college at Florida State. Prime had already signed a contract with the Yankees and had money, while the rest of his teammates were just broke college kids, and primetime represented power, money, and success with his swagger and clothes and Gold chains.



Deion “PRIMETIME” Sanders


In his beyond the glory documentary, a line he said always stuck with me when he said.


“I had power amongst the team when teammates came to me with issues, problems, needed money, I kept $5,000 on me at all times, and I would break them off.”


As a kid that didn’t come from money, and being broke in college, I thought that it was so cool later, as an aspiring actor trying to make ends meet, to get to a point where you’re no longer struggling and start making real money it feels good because you know the journey it took to get here. For many of you in sports entertainment or business, you can relate to the gratification of becoming a series regular etc.. signing your first pro contract or successful launch of your business. It’s normal for anyone, especially in sports and entertainment, when they start achieving success, to start buying some nice things, I know I did.


I bet many of you have heard the story 24 Karat Gold is “too soft” for Jewelry I had heard that many times also until my best friend Liam told me, no, that’s not true, overseas in Asia,24 Karat Gold Jewelry is the standard, and I always kept that in mind.


As my career progressed and I started making money, I went to see Liam and asked him to help me get a 24 Karat Gold Chain from Asia it just happened that he was considering the idea of starting a company that provided custom handmade 24K Gold Jewelry to the U.S market because it wasn’t available in the U.S. Retail Market.


I didn’t know details about the U.S. Gold Jewelry industry except that it was impossible to find 24K Gold Jewelry at any mall, retail, or luxury jewelry store, but now I was getting an education on the subject, and although what I was being told made sense it was still somewhat shocking. I learned the markup on Gold Jewelry was 300%-400% over the price of gold!


But Liam told me don’t take my word for it, and go see for myself, he told me to visit all the jewelers in Buckhead and find the style chain that I liked, and he would have it made in 24k Gold.


He told me to ask the jewelers questions about the weight, how the jewelry is priced and why they don’t carry 24k Gold Jewelry. My afternoon visiting 10-15 jewelry stores confirmed everything Liam told me. They had every excuse for not giving the weight of Jewelry, including that information being “intellectual property” and no answers for how their jewelry was priced. Most gold jewelry was 10k -14k, and nothing was more than 18k.


When I went back to talk to Liam, he explained that overseas in Asia, everyone knows that when you buy Gold Jewelry, it’s like buying actual gold. It's sold by weight, and you are charged a fee for design and labor to turn Pure Gold Bullion into 24k Gold Jewelry. You know exactly how to price the gold and what it’s worth, and it’s the exact opposite here in the U.S they won’t tell you the weight or how the Gold Jewelry is priced. They tell you 24k is too soft for Gold Jewelry and carry nothing above 18k.


Besides the insane markup on alloyed gold, what makes it more comical is that in the U.S back 30 years ago, there weren’t many people wearing much gold like Deion, but nowadays, it’s become a very common, almost standard issue for athletes, entertainers those that are successful in making statements with expensive Gold Jewelry, so more people are getting ripped off and throwing money away and not even getting the best product. They are spending top dollar and getting ripped off by paying outrageous markups on alloyed gold chains that are 10k-14k-18k purity. They don’t get the chance to experience 24 Karat Gold Jewelry.


The only people benefitting from this are corporations and jewelers. They tell people 24k Gold is too soft, but Billions of people in the Eastern part of the world own 24K Gold if you do some due diligence. Through our conversation, I started to see why it made sense that he wanted to start YINCITYGOLD, and I told him that if he were open to it, I would like to invest and become involved with the company. Liam told me to let’s see how I feel about the product first, and if I love it, then we will work something out, so I told Liam the style I had in mind, and he had it made for me.


I’m wearing it right now. It’s handmade solid 24 Karat Gold Jewelry that tests pure to 99.9%. This is the highest purity and quality Gold Jewelry you will find, and the most amazing part is that I paid 40% design and labor markup for the best Gold Jewelry you can find, not 300%.




As great as it looks and feels, if we circle back to Deion “Primetime” at FSU, what I realized appealed to me the most about having $5,000 at all times is the peace of mind that I have it, not that I spent it and this here is better than having $5000 because not only do I know exactly what my gold is worth right now if I were to go sell it, but know that in 5-10 years this chain is going to be worth much more than what I paid for it and that’s not possible when you buy the Gold Jewelry sold by jewelers in the U.S.


In the entertainment and sports world, let's be real appearances and image matter. Your hard work finally pays off, and you are rewarded with a big contract, movie, or series. One of the first things many people in sports and entertainment do when they make it and get discretionary money is buy jewelry.




Gold and Jewelry have symbolized success, wealth, and power in different cultures throughout human history, but what is happening in the U.S. is that you are just paying for an overpriced fashion statement that contains gold. That is just the absolute plain truth.


The phrase worth your weight in gold is real, and if Liam didn’t put me on, I would have relied on what a jeweler told me and bought 10k, 14k, or 18k Gold Jewelry priced 300% or more over its gold value. That’s not how it should be. It’s why I am part of YINCITY GOLD and sharing this story with you today because it’s real. I have always enjoyed sharing something great with those that I know.


GOLD JEWELRY IS MEANT TO BE AN INVESTMENT, RARE, SPECIAL, don’t let anyone tell you differently. For all of those succeeding in entertainment and business, don’t waste your hard earned money on diluted alloyed Gold Jewelry marked up 300% or more.


VISIT YINCITYGOLD.COM and subscribe to get a copy of our U.S. Gold Jewelry Study. Use our Gold Jewelry Markup Calculator and calculate the Value of any Gold Jewelry to FIRST know the value of the Gold you are getting before you consider purchasing any Gold Jewelry.


“Never Be Told Or Sold Anything Less Than Pure 24 Gold”

3 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page